Whole of Government Accounts (Designation of Bodies) Order 2000

Publication Date:January 01, 2000

2000No. 3357


The Whole of Government Accounts (Designation of Bodies) Order 2000




The Treasury in exercise of the powers conferred on them by section 10(1) of the Government Resources and Accounts Act 2000( 1), and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order: -

1. This Order may be cited as the Whole of Government Accounts (Designation of Bodies) Order 2000 and shall come into force on 1st April 2001.

2. The bodies listed in the Schedule to this Order are designated in respect of the financial year ending with 31st March 2002 for the purposes of section 10 of the Government Resources and Accounts Act 2000.

Jim Dowd

Clive Betts

Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

22nd December 2000


Article 2


Adult Learning Inspectorate

Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Ministry of

Alcohol Education and Research Council

Apple and Pear Research Council

Arts Council of England

Arts Council of Wales

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

Boundary Commission for Northern Ireland

British Educational Communications and Technology Agency

British Library

British Museum

British Potato Council

British Tourist Authority

British Trade International

Broadcasting Standards Commission

Cabinet Office

Castle Vale Housing Action Trust

Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research

Charity Commission

Child and Family Court Advisory and Support Service

Coal Authority

Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment

Commission for Health Improvement

Commission for Local Administration

Commission for Racial Equality

Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom

Competition Commission

Community Development Foundation

Construction Industry Training Board

Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils

Countryside Agency

Countryside Council for Wales

Criminal Cases Review Commission

Criminal Injuries Compensation Authority

Crown Prosecution Service

Culture, Media and Sport, Department for

Customs and Excise, H M

Defence, Ministry of

Design Council

Disability Rights Commission

Economic and Social Research Council

Education and Employment, Department for

East of England Development Agency

East Midlands Development Agency

Engineering Industry Training Board

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

English Heritage (The Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England)

English Partnerships

English Tourism Council

Environment Agency

Environment, Transport and the Regions, Department of the

Equal Opportunities Commission


Export Credit Guarantee Department

Film Council

Food Standards Agency

Football Licensing Authority

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Forestry Commission

Gaming Board for Great Britain

Gas and Electricity Consumers' Council

Government Actuary's Department

Guaranteed Export Finance Corporation

Health, Department of

Health Development Agency

Health and Safety Commission and Executive

Higher Education Funding Council for England

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales

Home Grown Cereals Authority

Home Office

Horserace Betting Levy Board

Horticultural Development Council

Horticultural Research International

Housing Corporation

Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority

Imperial War Museum

Independent Television Commission

Inland Revenue

International Development, Department for

Intervention Board

Investors in People UK

Juvenile Justice Board

Learning and Skills Council

Legal Services Commission

Liverpool Housing Action Trust

Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales

Local Government Commission for England

Lord Chancellor's Department

Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission

Medical Research Council

Meat and Livestock Commission

Microbiological Research Authority

Milk Development Council

Millennium Commission

National Assembly for Wales

National Biological Standards Board

National Clinical Assessment Authority

National College for School Leadership

National Consumer Council

National Council for Education and Training for Wales

National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts

National Forest Company

National Gallery

National Heritage Memorial Fund

National Investment and Loans Office

National Library of Wales

National Lottery Charities Board

National Lottery Commission

National Maritime Museum

National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside

National Museums and Galleries of Wales

National Museum of Science and Industry

National Portrait Gallery

National Radiological Protection Board

National Research Development Corporation

National Savings, Department for

Natural Environment Research Council

Natural History Museum

Nature Conservancy Council for England

New Opportunities Fund

North East Development Agency

North West Development Agency

Northern Ireland Court Service

Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission

Northern Ireland Office

Northern Ireland Policing Board

Occupational Pensions Regulatory Authority

Office of the Data Protection Commissioner

Office of Fair Trading

Office of Gas and Electricity Markets

Office of Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Schools in England

Office for National Statistics

Office of the Rail Regulator

Office of Telecommunications

Office of Water Services

Parole Board

Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council

Pensions Compensation Board

Police Complaints Authority

Police Information Technology Organisation

Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland

Policyholders' Protection Board

Post Office Users' Council for Northern Ireland

Post Office Users' Council for Scotland

Post Office Users' Council for Wales

Post Office Users' National Council

Postal Services Commission

Privy Council Office

Probation Board for Northern Ireland

Public Health Laboratory Service Board

Public Record Office

Qualifications, Curriculum and Assessment Authority for Wales

Qualifications and Curriculum Authority

Radio Authority

Registrar of Occupational and Personal Pension Schemes

Registrar of the Public Lending Right

Resource: the Council for Museums, Archives and Libraries

Royal Armouries Museum

Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Royal Hospital, Chelsea

Scotland Office

Scottish Consumer Council

Seafish Industry Authority

Security and Intelligence Agencies

Serious Fraud Office

Simpler Trade Procedures Board

Social Security, Department of

South East England Development Agency

South West of England Development Agency

Sport England

Sports Council for Wales

Statistics Commission

Stonebridge Housing Action Trust

Strategic Rail Authority

Student Loans Company Ltd

Tate Gallery

Teacher Training Agency

Tower Hamlets Housing Action Trust

Trade and Industry, Department of

Treasury, H M

Treasury Solicitor's Department

UK Sport

United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

Victoria and Albert Museum

Wales Office

Wales Tourist Board

Wallace Collection

Waltham Forest Housing Action Trust

Welsh Consumer Council

Welsh Development Agency

Welsh Language Board

Welsh National Board for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting

West Midlands Development Agency

Westminster Foundation for Democracy

Wine Standards Board of the Vintners' Company

Yorkshire and Humber Development Agency

Youth Justice Board for England and Wales


(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates bodies, for the financial year ending with 31st March 2002, for the purposes of section 10 of the Government Resources and Accounts Act 2000. The Treasury intend that the `whole of government' accounts to be prepared for that year under section 9 of the Act should relate in part to each of the bodies designated by this Order, and the designation enables the Treasury to require those bodies to provide financial information in relation to that year.

(1) 2000...

To continue reading